411: Eyeliners!

This can be a scary topic for most girls because finding the perfect eyeliner isn’t easy and can be discouraging when you have an eyeliner meltdown! I’m going to show you the different types of eyeliners I use, how to use them, how much each product  costs, and where to get them. I hope this helps! Comment below if you have any questions or comments.

Probably the most commonly used eyeliner out there are eyeliner pencils. The problem that most girls have with these eyeliners is that they ‘melt’ or wear off. The heat from our body (face) melts the oils in the product and before you know it… raccoon eyes! Just like with any creamy makeup product, you need to set it with a powder. If you are using a black eyeliner, apply a black eye shadow on top to prevent meltage. Is that a word? It is now! Same thing goes for a brown eyeliner, apply a brown eye shadow on top of it. Your eyeliner will last longer and you won’t have to reapply it a bazillion times a day. My favorites right now are…

Urban Decay:24/7 Pencil Eyeliner

Price: $19.00

Where to buy? Urban Decay ; Ulta ; Sephora  ; E-bay

The price for this product isn’t exactly ‘budget friendly‘, but these are the most creamy and long lasting pencils I have ever used!  The great thing about Urban Decay is their color selection! I use their black liner in the color Zero. It’s a soft black, but if you’re looking for the blackest of black they have a new one in Perversion. Any time I buy UD products I make sure they’re on sale. Most of their smaller eye shadow palettes come with mini eyeliners… so HELLO freebie ;]!

____________________________________________________

Rimmel London: Soft Kohl Kajal Eye Pencil

Price: $3.19

Where to buy? Ulta ; E-Bay ; any drugstore.

You can’t  beat the price for this eyeliner! I have the colors Jet Black and Sable Brown. Rimmel London has a very natural selection of colors besides a blue, green, and a purple shade. It applies smoother than most drugstore eyeliners I’ve used and the staying power is pretty awesome as well.

**TIP** If you are having problems getting your eyeliner to glide on, heat it with a hair dryer for 3-5 seconds. Using a lighter will also do the trick, just hold the tip of the pencil  close to the flame for 3-5 seconds. To make sure you don’t burn your eyelid, gently touch the tip of the pencil to see if the product is NOT melted. This will indicate it’s cool enough, yet warm enough to use (if that makes sense) I’d advise using the hair dryer though seeing as it’s safest. I don’t want anyone to burn their house down! lol

Gel eyeliner is by far my favorite because it is so easy to work with and it has the best staying power! It is great for trying to achieve the perfect winged eyeliner or ‘cat eye’ because the product  is so smooth. To get that precise line, I like using the Sonia Kashuk Bent Eyeliner Brush or the Sigma E65 Brush which is listed below.

Maybelline: Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner

Price: $9.99

Where to buy? Ulta ; E-Bay ; any drugstore.

This is hands down my favorite eyeliner of life, I have accidentally fallen asleep with this on and I wake up with it still being perfect. That my friends is TRUE staying power haha! Your waterline is the worst place for your eyeliner to wear off, so this is your best bet if you can’t always touch up your eyeliner through out the day. I have mine in Blackest Black. If you don’t have a brush, no worries… this comes with one!

____________________________________________________

Sonia Kashuk: Bent Eyeliner Brush

Price: $5.99

Where to buy?: Target ; Makeup Geek ; E-bay

Sigma: Small Angle E65 Brush

Price: $9.oo

Where to buy: Sigma Beauty ; E-bay

____________________________________________________

Liquid Eyeliner is probably the trickiest when it comes to applying it because it dries so fast. You need a steady hand, not only to create a clean precise look, but if you get it in your eyes… OUCH! I’ve had my whole eyeball turn black because I had an oopsie haha. It won’t kill you, I promise, it just stings horribly. I gotta warn a sister, right?! Most liquid liners that I have tried will crumble or is SO watery that the color doesn’t even apply. So far these are my favorites…

Urban Decay: 24/7 Liquid Eyeliner

Price: $19.00

Where to buy?  Urban Decay ; Ulta ; Sephora  ; E-bay

I’ve tried my fair share of liquid eyeliners and although I don’t care too much for the price, I’d say it is worth it if you’re wanting to invest in a good liquid eyeliner. I have mine in the color Perversion. As you can see it has a thin brush applicator which is good for making thin lines. This liner has a dark glossy finish to it, so if you’re into matte finishes, this may not be your love. The lasting power of this UD liquid eyeliner is not all day as it claims, but it does last the majority of the day!

____________________________________________________

Almay: Liquid Liner

Price: $6.99

Where to buy? Ulta ; E-Bay ; any drugstore.

Precise Black is a true deep dark black like the UD 24/7 liquid liner except this has a matte finish. This has a felt-tip applicator and can be a bit on the thick side if you don’t take your time with it. I personally like my eyeliner on the thicker side ;]. I’m a little iffy on the lasting power of this eyeliner, but it’s a cheaper alternative… plus it would be great for going over false eyelashes in covering the lash glue.

This last category probably doesn’t make any sense to you, but the biggest thing I’d like to emphasize is that makeup is not one dimensional. Eye shadow can be used as an alternative if you’re looking for a softer look. Some people don’t like the harshness that eyeliner usually gives, so if you’ve got an angled eye brush or whatever your favorite brush is… you’re set!

MAC: Single Eye Shadow in Carbon

Price: $15.00

Where to buy? MAC ; E-bay

This is obviously a tad expensive, but if it is going to substitute your eyeliner, it will be worth the money you paid for it. It would also be a great for going over pencil eyeliner as well. I only suggest this because it is such a popular true black eye shadow. MAC is known for their quality pigments.

____________________________________________________

Wet n Wild: Color Icon Palette in Greed

Price: $4.99

Where to buy?  E-Bay ; Drugstore Website ; any drugstore.

Any of the Wet N Wild palettes that have black in them are great, especially this palette because it has both a matte and shimmer black. Wet n Wild is one of the rare drugstore eye shadows that actually has good pigmentation. You just can’t beat the price.

I hope you guys enjoyed this blog and learned something. Every product listed besides the MAC Carbon eye shadow is all products that I have used… so every opinion I have about them is from my own personal experience.

10 thoughts on “411: Eyeliners!

  1. nickisexton says:

    This is very very helpful! Good job Ashley on the make-up tips. I LOVE how you give direct links to where to buy these make-up products. I also love how you show an expensive & cheap version of the make-up & honestly what works & what doesnt. I think that is the most annoying thing. Wasting on money that does not work, does not last or the colors are just ugly. lol

    Can’t wait to see another blog from you & maybe a video too 😉

    • makeup3130 says:

      You bless my heart, thank you sissy. I will take any criticisms. I was going to link a few Youtube tutorials on eyeliner but… IDK haha! Maybe one day I can do it, you’ll be here a lot soon lol you can be my model.

  2. Love this! But I have a question, first what is your ‘waterline’? and second I don’t like to use eyeliner on my upper lid, mostly because I am just too lazy, and just use it on my lower. What is your suggestion for what I use? I was using a green maybelline twist stick thingy, but it seemed to never dry and would always smudge. However i liked how easy it was to apply and the darkness of the black. So suggestions? 🙂

    • makeup3130 says:

      Your waterline is the flat part close to your eye… it’s basically the rim lol. http://i41.tinypic.com/nql8g.jpg <— I just made a picture for you to see. I love gel eyeliner, it lasts a lot longer than a pencil does. I use the Maybelline kind, but I heard the Wet n Wild was just as good and it's $5 or $6 cheaper… It's only $3.99. You can get that at any drugstore or buy it online. http://www.drugstore.com/wet-n-wild-megaeyes-creme-eyeliner-black-886/qxp347792?catid=183537&fromsrch=wet%20n%20wild%20gel%20liner <— That's what that one looks like. If you want to stick with a pencil eyeliner, just place a black eye shadow over it, any will do. It will soak up all the oils in the eyeliner and should last a lot longer since it's dry. No matter the product or what you do, you'll always have to reapply it some time during the day because our eyes are so watery.

      I use to wear eyeliner just on my bottom of my eye as well, but I like the look it gives my lashes when I wear it on the top. We're all different lol. Thank you for commenting me Lauren <3!

  3. larissa says:

    I use elf an eyeliner pen i guess its a liquid it looks like a fine felt tip marker. It works great for me amd its only a buck at walmart i love elf

  4. I nominated you for the One Lovely Blog Award! =]

    For rules click here > http://lovebeautyandlife.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/one-lovely-bog-award/

Leave a Reply

